Tonight Is a Special Night! Thank you!

At the moment I’m overwhelmed with excitement and a flurry of thoughts, and I’ll explain why in a minute, but first, I need to express lots of gratitude. Choosing to live as an actor can cause those closest to you a great deal of worry and stress. An actor’s life is one of uncertainty and of constant change. For many (myself included) it does not offer much financial stability and requires a lot of love, understanding, encouragement, and patience from those close to the actor.  You who have shared this journey with me for the last 5 years when I decided to pursue acting, THANK YOU. My teachers, friends, and family, you have been an incredible source of inspiration. I have learned so much since I was admitted to the Stella Adler Studio, and I’ve continued to learn since I graduated. Through every step of the way, I’ve relied on some very special people to help keep me going. You’ve taught me, sheltered me, fed me, cheered for me, come to my shows, liked my posts, listened to me during rough times, and shared joy in my successes. Thank you so much. You know who you are.

In my journey I decided to continue training last summer at The Funny School of Good Acting and take clown class with Christopher Bayes. It was absolutely a life changing experience in which I rediscovered a part of me that had been lost since I was about 8 years old. I was particularly interested in this clown training because I was gearing up to play El Gallo in The Fantasticks at The Winnipesaukee Playhouse in Meredith, New Hampshire, my first professional musical. I was very excited to take on this role and to bring El Gallo to life.  Under the leadership and direction of Bryan Halperin and the partnership of Katie Proulx as the Mute, as well as an incredibly talented cast and crew, I was empowered to create a very provocative back story that fueled my emotional journey through the production. Many nights the run ended in tears for me, something I was completely unaccustomed to, but something I was drawn to, because I felt growth. At Stella Adler, we studied under the premise, and something I’ve come to fully believe in, that growth as an actor and growth as a human being are synonymous. 

Our work on The Fantasticks at The Winnipesaukee Playhouse was rewarded in a big way tonight. To my knowledge, so far, we’ve been awarded Best Director (Bryan Halperin), Best Music Director (Judy Hayward), Best Lighting Design (Matt Guminski), Best Supporting Actress (Katie Proulx), and Best Actor (Me!). I’m so thankful to have been given the opportunity to play this part and to have worked with such wonderful people. The new theatre is gorgeous, and the people who run the theatre are caring, dedicated, passionate, warm, and welcoming. I’m so happy for all of us, and just, THANK YOU!

I was unable to be at the awards ceremony in New Hampshire this evening because I was performing in the closing night of another project for which I’m extremely grateful to have been a part of, The Tragic Muse. Again, I had the privilege of working with an amazingly talented group of artists, and I just couldn’t be happier with how the run went. My family and friends came to see the show and we all went out to Katz’s Deli afterward, where I ate far too much pastrami! I can’t wait until the next project. 

Follow your dreams. Figure out what your dreams are, and go after it, as hard as you can. It isn’t always glorious, glamorous, or filled with money, but damn, does it feel good to know that you’re doing what you love, you’re good at it, and your family and friends support you. 

So much love to you all. I can’t thank you enough. 

One thought on “Tonight Is a Special Night! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

